Friday, December 5, 2008

So yes, I know slacker Sarah has not been keeping up with her blog like she claimed she would. In her defense she has been very busy with her mother coming to visit, and then her sister Rachel coming to visit.. then Halloween and working and then Home to Ohio for Thanksgiving.. we've been busy little buggers around here lately. It's the time of the year I'm thinking.



Even Gabe and Elliot have been really busy lately.. I managed to snap a quick photo of the two of them resting a couple of Sundays ago. I love this picture. Elliot's sporting his festive Halloween ghost sweater.

Our apartment rental people.. (who I hate) sent us papers to re-sign our lease which ends at the end of February I guess.. and Gabe and I were a little suprised to get it so early. They want us to decide by Dec 20th if we're going to re-sign to live here another year or not. We've only lived here like 8 months..WTF. So we thought bout it and decided it was less expensive to move and less stress finding a place that'll let us take along our large family of varmits and let us be so close to transportation, food, laundry, bars, hang outs and of course my favorite the brown elephant. how the hell could i EVER move away from that store??

Also things are kinda starting to look up for us. We're better off then we were this time last year. I mean sure yea we've traded in our friends for location and city life but Gabe's starting to make fairly good money and really prove himself at his job. I'm really proud of him. He's been catching my falls a lot lately and I love him more then ever for always being there for me. So talking it over.. and making a deal with Gabe that'd he'd help paint the apartment if I agreed to staying...

We're staying.. another year here in Chicago.

sorry ohio friends??!!



Our trip to Ohio was great. I was exhausted by the time we got back because we we're so busy trying to cram in time to see everyone and their brother. BUT!! we did it. I got to spend a lot of time with Mr. Luke-a-do... my nephew.. and Gabe and I bought him Candyland and Chutes and Ladders. I swear we tried to play Candyland with him a million times that weekend. He's huge now! and so smart! We finally had our parents meet too, which i thought went alright. We picked this place in Fairlawn, Ohio named On Tap which we thought would be great to have dinner and then transition into drinking later on with friends... BOY! we're we wrong it ended up being a horrible place the waitress couldn't have complained more.. and it got overly crowded.. and annoying.. spending time with both the families was great but .. nothing is better then thanksgiving dinner at Velmins!!

My dear friend miss Karla Velmin decided that she would throw this dinner in our honor and it was great. Oh course the weather was horrible the night we get into ohio with this lovely snow storm and half the people invited couldn't make it.. but we still had a great time and took some hysterical pictures..

another night we were able to get the whole "circle of friends" together to watch some scary movies..

i'm just going to leave it to these pictures.. they can explain themselves..







Here's a quick pic of Mr. George and Mrs. Jane Jetson. After having the nicknames all summer long from our dear friend Douglas.. we decided that it was genius to be the Jetsons for Halloween. We had my sister Rachel ( the pirate)in for the weekend and my brother Adam ( indiana jones) joined us for a party at gabe's boss' house and Julia (the boss) said later on once we had got there that if we had been at the party during the costume contest we would have totally won first place. i was bummed but flatterd.









I have so many more pics to put of from the thanksgiving day parade and stuff but I've got to run and meet up with Gabey downtown for our date night..

I swear I'll do it soon.

Over and out...

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

go tell your mama.. i voted for obama

so i know i a terrible blogger and haven't wrote anything for over a week now and i made a big stink about how i was going to keep up with it and i have failed you. BUT i have been so busy with my mom in town and then my sister coming for Halloween (which i have tons of pictures from!) so i will have to update all of that goodness later because i feel today i need to touch the subject of election day.

I got up this morning, turned on the news, and heard that there lines as long as 2 hour waits to vote today here in Chicago. So i got dressed put on my "vote" shirt that i made a few weeks ago , packed my ipod, a magazine, and set forth to vote for a chance.

I get there and it's at this jewish temple (which was beautiful btw) and i didn't wait more then 2 mins to vote. I did however have to fill out a ballot twice because i'm blonde and double voted on one of the fifty billion judges Chicago has up for re-election. and i was all excited to turn in my ballot and walk out with my "i voted today" sticker... and NOPE.. the lady looked at me like i was crazy asking for a sticker when i couldn't find any. Does Chicago not give out stickers? I'm depressed! i almost cried. The best part other then my civic duty... is wearing the sticker all day.. feeling all important. .. well damn. i'm gonna write to the city and tell them they need stickers!.. hell i'll write to obama when he's president.. he'd be interested in my complaint about stickers. hahaa!

i did snap a quick cell phone picture of my ballot ( which i don't know if it's illegal or not) but i felt all scandalis doing it and i do know the lady voting the the booth next to me heard the noise my phone made when the picture snapped. but whatever.. i have documentation of my fabulous vote....




but get out there today.. and vote.. for Obama or McCain i don't care.. vote! you do make a difference!

Gabe and I are having an election results party tonight and are looking forward to it. I'll upload some pictures from that as well soon..

over and out..

Sunday, October 19, 2008

5 things to be happy about today!!

today this made me happy :



waking up with my love monkey past 9 am!

finishing our chores (when did i get old)

listening to jazz while i know he's in the other room writing his book

having miss sushi belle watch me type this blog

fake bacon... for which i will consume later this evening when my mom makes cheese noodles!! mmyum!

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Someone to Watch over Me



it's just another day here in the city.. dog's and cat's nappin'... already did laundry this morning and i washed my new ragstock as well so i can finally get some crafting done for the holdiays... we're cleaning todday!!! because my mother is coming into town tonight.. well tomorrow at 5am. over night.. whatever. and apparently she has vertigo. so i hope you feel better MOMMA!! i'm hoping to do some cooking and crafting with her and spend some real quailty time with her- we need it! i have a sewing machine trouble shooting problem also i'm hoping she'll help me fix. she used to be quite the little sewer herself back in the day..



i got a great picture of our fish RINGO the other day i wanted to share.. he's such an awesome fish. i swear it's like he knows i'm there watching him and let me take this picture of his " blue steal"



also i got this really cute little monster thing at target for my nephew luk-a-do who is the cutest kid ever (well until i see mine) and i'm hoping to send it out to him soon. I also got this little thing for my god son mister holden i'm also send out sometime soon and wont' mention what it is because his mommy is probably reading this.. anyways.. today is a blah day, it's raining.. gotta go to work soon and not much to say.. over and out y'all..

Monday, October 13, 2008

all you need is love... and some flowers too!


so i was busy making dinner.. and in walks my lover monkey with these beautiful flowers!! i lover you gabey lips!! Thank you babe! You made my night, my life, guh.. i love you!


this is real and not for play, i'm gonna vote obama way...

did you know that there's this ganstaaaa kinda guy out there that produced the most genius repetitive song there is this electoral time of year. apparently his name is "Ti$a" and his song is called "vote obama" ...

"this is real and not for play, i'mma vote obama way.... be good we voting... and throwing it up"



ATTENTION: now i am not one for crap music usually but i must admit.. it's catchy and
i love it.


in other news..


this past weekend was a little crazy. i had an old friend visit for let's just say for kicks.. A DAY! and we have a few good minutes of fun (when he wasn't on his phone) but we did get to hit up the local garrets popcorn shop and if you've ever been to chicago you know that waiting in line for up to an hour for this popcorn is completely normal, lucky for us we got right in.. waited maybe 5 mins while we listened to the girl in front of us convincing her friends that they have to put crack in it and i agree.. this popcorn is fantastic!! if you ever come visit me make sure i take you.

we also stopped by my lover monkey's store where i got to have a photo op with mr. barack obama himself. i have to tell you tell this man is quite a character.. to think. the future mr. prez of the us of a asked for my phone # !!! i had to turn him down because i explained to him that i'm in love with gabey... but we settled on me grabbing his manly political love balls. so here you have it..




Me and Mr. Barack Obama himself





also gabe and i did a little halloween costume shopping and i picked up some sexy purple tights for my jane jetson costume and gabe decided he needed a pair of the blues brother glasses.. and i got him a new fedora as well..







and after that we hit up the most magical place on earth. i cream my jeans just a little every time i think about or walk into this place. it's called..THE BROWN ELEPHANT.. it's a local thrift store where i purchase a few things here and there and every once in awhile i find something so absolutely perfect.. i shiver with excitement... here's this week's bitchin' $8 purchase






and sorry it's on it's side for some reason the right side up picture is not wanting to upload.. but you get the idea. yeah.. it's now hanging above my tv in my living room and... gosh it makes me squeal with excitement!!!


also i spent some time this weekend making pumpkin butter, i made some last week for my boss' birthday and then more this weekend for me and my kookie dog lady neighbor (who absolutely cracks me up) and it turned out fantastic. if you want the recipe let me know..









but any whooo... tummy's a grumblin' and the dog's probably have to go outside and do business.. so i'm gonna get going..

until next time.. over and out

Sunday, October 12, 2008

a proper introduction..


i guess a proper introduction of myself would be in order.. i am Sar-ahhhhhhh yup that's picture up there is me, and that handsome lover man (to the left) is my lover monkey himself mr. gabe (i'll probably talk about him a lot)


so here's the first blog-ity-blogness.. i'm excited, happy, hopeful to see where this goes and i must admit i've been reading a lot of blogs lately and i must have caught the bug, because here i am creating one. so first off i've decided i should let you in on a couple of secrets, and they are as follows:

  1. i am a horrible speller, so if you find humor is correcting grammer and punctuation then horray!!! for you, because reading this will never be perfect and i'm not going to try to be.
  2. coffee, itunes, and random demeanor are the main sources of fuel in creating this.
  3. this is me, blunt and all. love it, read it, hate it.. you choose
  4. flat foot floogee, .. ok seriously... one great song .. i was listening to it at the time my new blog was born so check it out : "flat foot floogee" by benny goodman (i believe) circa 40's



ok on to more.. i am currently residing in this magical windy city known to you as Chicago. now for most of you non chicago-ans i would imagine you figure chicago is called the windy city because it's windy right? well much to your dismay.. umm no.. your wrong. it's called the windy city actually because of it's history with some politicians having some "hot air" also the gamblin' .. that's right folks.. don't believe me""

check it out:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Why_is_Chicago_called_the_Windy_City

so yeah gabe (my lover monkey) and i have done a little bit of gamblin' ourselves and decided to scrape up every penny we have to move to this windy city and now here we are in our cute little 2nd floor flat in the city. and i must say.. since i find more pleasure in decorating my apartment then sex sometimes..( just kidding gabe) i have truly outdone myself in this apartments decorative potential, i've finally adapted here and feeling creative again after a long blow of a slump i had happen to me in the past, so here i am.. with 4 window watchin' cats, (kippy, sushi, napoleon, billie) and two now shittin' on cement city dogs (elliot and chi-chi ) and one handsome beta fish (ringo), just got a sewing machine, and i'm feelin' crafty too.. so i will let you in on my life as time rolls on my friends.

so with all of this said, i'm going to enjoy this. at least i think i will and hope to find some readers so i'm not just bloggin' to myself. if anything keep me in touch with long distance friends with words and pictures!


much love and happy future readings to you all!!